Seatbelts NOT included.

As a mother of 3 youngish children, I struggle with the same fears that every parent has. Am I giving my children the right tools for success? Am I instilling proper morals and values into their lives? Will my children grow up to be good people?

This roller coaster ride in parenting comes without seatbelts, without a safety brake, and the ride was not approved by OSHA. I suppose there are many clichés that could be used to describe the many ups and downs of parenthood, however you describe it, you can never be prepared for all that is thrown at you.

The idea of mothering daughters is one that has struck fear into my heart far before my first child (a daughter of course) was conceived. My tween and teen years were far from magical and reliving those years via a turbulent, emotional teenage girl was not my idea of a good time. Don’t get me wrong, when I was pregnant with my first child I was grateful she was healthy, regardless of her sex. The problem was that eventually she would come into this world and after that we were both living without the wonderful protection of my wonderful uterus.

Now, almost 11 years later, I am now the mother of 2 tweenage girls and an active 6 year old boy. My kids are pretty typical American children, they are well-loved, well-nurtured, and very intelligent. The biggest motivation in writing this blog series is to discuss my recent feeling of complete failure with my almost 11 year old daughter and how under prepared I really was for raising a tween. These upcoming adventures hopefully will provide insight at a very real and raw level.

Thank you for taking the time to read.

Leave a Reply

